For a few years now, I’ve been seeing a praying mantis on my birthday.  Mantises are September bugs in Indiana, so it’s not really unusual, but I prefer to think of this as a mystical phenomenon. Sometimes I get a picture and sometimes I don’t, but if I do, I have to take what I get. Four years ago, Travis wrangled the wildlife for me while I took a shot. This is the best picture of the birthday mantises.

_DSC0045 (2)

I always wonder whether I’m going to see my birthday mantis, but this year, I found a small one on my chair when I went outside this morning. He freaked out when I grabbed the camera and ran onto the house. This guy was smaller than usual, and an unusual color.

But he’s my birthday mantis.

_DSC0008

In other news, today is also International Vulture Awareness Day.  I’m proud to share my birthday with the vultures.

One thought on “Birthday mantis and vulture awareness

Leave a Reply

