I wandered around Santa Fe today, looking for blue things to photograph. Santa Fe is a town of contradictions in my mind — on one hand it houses some of the kindest, most passionate creatives, but I can’t help but notice a vein of self-regard. That’s probably true in any city, and anyway, if you publicly own any creative instinct here in Santa Fe, you instantly feel supported. As I stood on the corner photographing the utility box below, a woman bluntly asked me what I was photographing. I told her somewhat sheepishly that I was doing a study of blue in Santa Fe, and she exclaimed at my creativity, assured me I was fascinating and that I would never run out of blue things to photograph in Santa Fe. It was nice to make a friend. I like it here, now that I’m acclimated to the elevation.

Once I started looking for blue in the sea of adobe, it was everywhere.

Santa Fe window
Santa Fe window

_DSC0010

_DSC0008

Metal work for sale
Metal work for sale
Utility box
Utility box

_DSC0032

_DSC0011

Window bars
Window bars
Scarves for sale
Scarves for sale
Leave a Reply

