084-1
Wendell Berry, in “The Peace of Wild Things,” wrote:
“When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.”

The wild things are my optimism. And three weeks into a year that is seriously challenging my hope reflex, I have found myself surrounded by herons. It’s the sort of contrary grace the universe sometimes offers just when it also seems to be crapping all over you.

I understood this only today, when I saw that the Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge is “Optimistic.” As I looked at the images that best represented the maintenance of that kind of faith, the world was kind enough to extend me a heron.

I appreciate that.

10 thoughts on “Optimistic: Where the Great Heron Feeds

      1. You might enjoy reading one of my earlier posts entitled “Works of Art, or in Praise of the Ordinary”…
        I had never lived right next to the water until moving to this space…I am always grateful to see who will be here and the Great Blue is a frequent and welcome visitor! That was why I so appreciated your wonderful photo and gentle reminder.

      2. not sure how to link, so I wouod suggest you look at my archives for June 2015 and just keep scrolling through posts until you hit June 17th- “Works of Art…” I actually wrote it this winter but had used a draft from earlier..not very tech savvy

Leave a Reply

